Saturday night, April 24, 2021, Chicago Bears Roquan Smith  was honored as the Bears’ recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award for the 2020 season. The Ed Block Courage award is presented to one player on each NFL team who exemplifies a commitment to sportsmanship and courage.  Teammates vote to determine the recipient.

Ed Block was a long-time head trainer with the Baltimore Colts who was a pioneer in his field.  The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation assists agencies that provide for the care and treatment of abused children. The luncheon event itself raises funds for the Ed McCaskey Scholarship at Maryville which uses those funds for high school, college and vocational scholarships for the children of Maryville. The scholarship is named for Bears vice president and treasurer and longtime Maryville supporter Ed McCaskey. John Brdecka, a former scholarship recipient and Maryville resident spoke at this year’s luncheon.

The prestigious awards are presented to one player on all 32 NFL teams who best exemplifies a commitment to sportsmanship and courage and serves as an inspiration in the locker room. The award recipients, who are voted for by their teammates, symbolize professionalism, great strength and dedication, and they are considered community role models.

Smith was also the recipient of the Brian Piccolo Award in 2019 and the Butkus Award in 2017. The Piccolo award is given to one rookie and one veteran per season who best exemplifies the courage, loyalty, teamwork, dedication and sense of humor of the late Brian Piccolo. The Butkus Award for College is given annually to the top linebackers.


2020 Roquan Smith

2019 Allen Robinson

2018 Jim Miller

2017 Kyle Long

2016 Pernell McPhee

2015 Robbie Gould

2014 Matt Slauson

2013 Patrick Mannelly

2012 Nick Roach

2011 Brian Urlacher

2010 Anthony Adams

2009 Israel Idonije

2008 Charles Tillman

2007 Tommie Harris

2006 Rex Grossman

2005 Ruben Brown

2004 Marc Colombo

2003 Dustin Lyman

2002 Ted Washington

2001 Jim Miller

2000 Clyde Simmons

1999 Ryan Wetnight

1998 John Thierry

1997 James Williams

1996 John Mangum

1995 Vinson Smith

1994 Kevin Butler

1993 Keith Van Horne

1992 Shaun Gayle

1991 John Wojciechowski

1990 Lemuel Stinson

1989 Ron Rivera

1988 Glen Kozlowski

1987 Ron Morris

1986 Mike Tomczak

1985 Mark Bortz

1984 Danny Rains


Sporting Chance Press