Sporting Chance Press’s Pillars of the NFL: Coaches Who Have Won Three or More Championships by Patrick McCaskey is a classic (see Amazon sale price today). Published in 2014, Pillars of the NFL examines the football lives of the legendary coaches who hoisted the game upon their shoulders and won the most NFL Championships. Who were these men? How did they succeed? Some toiled in the early days of professional football and some later, but all made vital contributions. The NFL pillars took the weight of their teams on their shoulders in a way that allowed light to shine on players and fans creating the greatest game in sports history.

Hands down, Pillars of the NFL is our masterpiece on football at Sporting Chance Press. The book looks at these interesting and important coaches: Bill Belichick, Paul Brown, Guy Chamberlin, Weeb Ewbank, Joe Gibbs, George Halas, Chuck Noll, Curly Lambeau, Vince Lombardi, and Bill Walsh. Pillars sheds light on the early lives, backgrounds, playing years, and teams of these great coaches. Contributions to the game are examined photos and illustrations provide a visual peak at the greats as well.

Our book designer, Don Torres, provided a very uncluttered design that focuses on getting information across to readers in a timeless way he learned when designing books for business professionals. Illustrating Bill Potter was called upon to provide historical drawings on each coach that are displayed in historical montage fashion. If you follow the internet coverage of historical records, you might be surprised to see so much is being lost today as historic information is being effectively purged. Print books are more valuable than ever in Sporting Chance Press’s view.

Peering into the rich history of professional football, Pillars takes readers into the action:

Bill Belichick creates a dynasty in New England using old-school ideas and modern methods.

Vince Lombardi establishes an unrivaled passion for football in Green Bay.

Paul Brown conquers the city of Cleveland and then Cincinnati.

Chuck Noll wakes up a sleepy franchise in Pittsburgh to become the most dominant force in football.

Joe Gibbs accomplishes the improbable with players who overachieve.

Bill Walsh takes football strategy to a new level.

George Halas sculpts the NFL and shapes football from its humblest roots to the TV era.

Curly Lambeau creates a football powerhouse to stand among giants.

Weeb Ewbank wins the “Greatest Game Ever Played” and shocks the sports world in Super Bowl III.

Guy “Champ” Chamberlin coaches three different NFL teams to four championships in the early days of professional football.

Readers see how each coach fits into professional football history they come to understand the coach’s approach to the game and they are treated to entertaining insights that delve into these great men.


Pillars of the NFL

Sporting Chance Press

ISBN: 978-0-9819342-5-9

432 pages, paperback,

March 2014

There is no coach working today who is close to joining these top coaches in Championship wins.

Image is in the Public Domain.