Today, Chicago Bears tight end Zach Miller will be honored as the Bears’ recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award at a luncheon at Manzo’s Banquets in DesPlaines. The Ed Block Courage award is presented to one player on each NFL team who exemplifies a commitment to sportsmanship and courage. Teammates vote to determine the recipient.

Miller has been recovering from a serious injury that occurred in the Bears-Saints game on October 29, 2017 in New Orleans. Miller suffered a dislocated knee and a torn popliteal artery. At the University Medical Center in New Orleans, Miller underwent the first of nine surgeries in a grueling rehabilitation process. If the artery injury is not detected early, an athlete can lose his leg from such an injury.

Ed Block was a long-time head trainer with the Baltimore Colts who was a pioneer in his field. Each NFL team participating in the Ed Block Courage Award Foundation program selects a “Courage House” that supports victims of abuse, violence and neglect. The Bears’ designated Courage House is Maryville Academy’s Crisis Nursery in Des Plaines. Maryville is a social service agency which sponsors programs for children and families. Maryville’s Crisis Nursery provides temporary emergency child care for families in crisis.

The luncheon event itself also raises funds for the Ed McCaskey Scholarship at Maryville Academy which uses those funds for high school, college and vocational scholarships for the children of Maryville. The scholarship is named for Bears vice president and treasurer and longtime Maryville supporter Ed McCaskey.


2018 Zach Miller

2017 Kyle Long

2016 Pernell McPhee

2015 Robbie Gould

2014 Matt Slauson

2013 Patrick Mannelly

2012 Nick Roach

2011 Brian Urlacher

2010 Anthony Adams

2009 Israel Idonije

2008 Charles Tillman

2007 Tommie Harris

2006 Rex Grossman

2005 Ruben Brown

2004 Marc Colombo

2003 Dustin Lyman

2002 Ted Washington

2001 Jim Miller

2000 Clyde Simmons

1999 Ryan Wetnight

1998 John Thierry

1997 James Williams

1996 John Mangum

1995 Vinson Smith

1994 Kevin Butler

1993 Keith Van Horne

1992 Shaun Gayle

1991 John Wojciechowski

1990 Lemuel Stinson

1989 Ron Rivera

1988 Glen Kozlowski

1987 Ron Morris

1986 Mike Tomczak

1985 Mark Bortz

1984 Danny Rains

Our author, Patrick McCaskey, is Vice President of the Chicago Bears and the son of  Edward McCaskey. Patrick McCaskey is the author of our Sports and Faith Series.  His Worthwhile Struggle just publishes in 2019, is described on this site under products.